The Blessing of Obedience

Today as I am at work, I think of how I got this job. About a year ago, I began searching for employment. I had applied at a couple of places with no success, but I wasn’t too worried about it. I had no need for a job right then, I was simply making plans for a future.

When my brother and I wanted to start taking a Karate class together I was a bit more motivated. Obsessed would be a more accurate description. My brother had never shown such an interest in anything, and I had been dreaming of learning martial arts since I was a little girl. (I’ve got dreams, no really just much less touchy-feely…your dream stinks. *Random movie scene end* šŸ˜€ )

That was really my only motivation to get a job, but my family can tell you that it doesn’t take much. Once I’m motivated that’s about all I’m going to think about, talk about, do, and plan until I succeed or fail beyond recovery. So as the weeks went by, I began to realize that I was paying way too much attention to job searching. (Although seeing my brother look for wanted signs and tell me who needed workers where was pretty adorable.) So I began to pray about it.

I knew that my focus should be on God first, not a job…so I didn’t ask for a job. I just asked that God would keep my mind focused on Him and that I would give Him control over my life. And I did. I let Him have it and stopped worrying.

I’m not even sure that two seconds passed. My Mom yelled for me, phone in hand. She said I had a call and to run. (And with my Mom, that means RUN like you’re gonna die if you don’t.) A lady was on the phone that I had spoken with once or twice before. Several months previously she had casually asked if I would be interested in a job someday. I had said yes, thinking she was only half-serious. Well when I answered the phone she said “Would you like to start Saturday?”

My brain just about popped. I was like “Lord, really? You were just waiting for me to let You have this?” I was flabbergasted. And sure enough, He gave me the job I have now. I’ve been blessed with a boss who puts God first, and who is willing to work around my schedule. There is no way I could have gotten a better job on my own.

I don’t ever just want to work to get a paycheck. I want to work to the best of my abilities, and glorify God through my work. I don’t always succeed when I’m in a hurry or something goes wrong, but I want to work cheerfully and with the desire to be as helpful as possible. God has put me exactly where He wants me and blessed me.

Delight thyself also in the Lord, and He shall give thee the desires of thine heart. – Psalms 37:4

I thank God for my job, and for my boss.

Leave a Reply

