Leviticus: Diseases, medical insight & priestly duties

Life can be crazy busy. Today for instance. I went from here to there to everywhere starting at seven a.m. and ending at nine. From horses to eyeballs to stories to children, I worked a variety of different jobs and studied a wide variety of topics. The people I studied were even busier.

When I was a little kid, I thought the book of Leviticus was boring. More than that, it was confusing, dull and dry. The last book I wanted to read. So I kinda skimmed through it so I could say that I read it and moved on. But for my AWANA homework, a bit more is required. So I began reading it and paying attention to the details.

I’ve always known that the priests of the tabernacle had many duties in the past. Leviticus gives us detailed instructions on how to sacrifice animals, what to sacrifice them for, and how many times to sprinkle their blood over the altar. I found this information to be fascinating, but not nearly as much as their other duties.

When God set the priests in charge of the tabernacle, they were more than priests. The most fascinating part of being a priest, was that one also became a part of Israel’s CDC. God provided detailed information on diseases like leprosy, how to dispose of corpses, and uncleanliness.

The rules that never made sense to me were actually God’s way of keeping His people safe. Rules on uncleanliness were very thorough instructions that reduced the spread of disease and promoted good health and hygiene.

Who knew that Leviticus of all books would have such interesting information? I imagine that the Israelites were some of the healthiest people of their time because of the regulations God had given them.

I use this now as a reminder to myself. When God tells us to do something, or not to do something, it’s because He has our best interest in mind. Even if it’s not what we want, God’s plan always ends up being better than what we had determined.

A man’s heart deviseth his way, but the Lord directeth his steps. – Proverbs 16:9

I am thankful for Leviticus. I would highly recommend it to medical students, particularly those who study diseases & how they are spread.

Leave a Reply

